A gluten-free diet is becoming more popular as the years pass. For some, it’s a choice because they simply feel better when they aren’t eating gluten, in many cases this is indicative of a gluten intolerance. For those with Celiac disease, their bodies give off a response from the immune system in the small intestine, which can cause some very unpleasant and painful results when ingested. It can be difficult to adjust your menu and snack options when a family member or friend is gluten-free, but there’s actually a lot of food that is already in your home that is suitable for this group of people.
While quinoa is still a grain, it is actually gluten-free! Not only is it a great alternative to pasta or rice, but quinoa is in many products in the grocery store.
You can make your own food at home with quinoa flour as well for your gluten-free friends including bread and muffins. Don’t forget to add some tasty banana or berries to amp up the flavor!
While it may be obvious that nuts are not something that contains gluten, they are worth noting because when you go gluten-free, it can be difficult to think of and discover suitable snacks, and nuts are a great one. If you’re getting any nuts that are seasoned, be sure to still check the label to make sure no wheat products have been added.
What makes nuts especially valuable to those on the gluten-free diet is that they have the ability to be substituted for gluten-based products in many cases. Ground nuts, creating a flour, is great for baking (especially almond flour) and can even be used to make pie crusts. With nuts on hand, it will be easy to make delicious and gluten-free options for your guests.
Chia seeds are naturally gluten-free as they are simply just seeds. They are tasteless for the most part, but when added to liquid, they take on a gel-like texture, wonderful for thickening recipes.
You can add chia seeds to just about anything! Add them to smoothies, bread, sauces, and drinks to get a dose of those good old omega-3 fatty acids and some antioxidants.
Chips are not only an easy food to cook with, but they are also budget friendly! You can use serve up some good old chips with homemade dip alongside veggies as well.
Chips are a light snack, making them a great food to munch on for those with gluten-free diets. Always read the label though, as sometimes wheat is used in the seasonings or in any pressed-shaped style chips, such as Pringles.
Porridge is a fantastic breakfast for not just gluten-free eaters, but for everyone! Make sure to check the package in the grocery store to make sure nothing has been added to the oats that include gluten. While oats are naturally gluten free, they’re often processed in the same facility as wheat, so just opt for the gluten-free variety when you’re not confident.
Oats are high in antioxidants, protein, and fiber, making them a perfect morning meal. You can also get oat flour for baking, or add oats to your cookies and muffins as well. If you are looking for an easy snack to make, you can create a granola out of oats, dried fruit, and nuts.
While potatoes may be rich in carbohydrates and starches, that doesn’t mean they are also packed with gluten.
Surprisingly enough, potatoes are completely gluten-free, making french fries, mashed potatoes, and Hasselback potatoes all good for those who are striving for a completely gluten-free diet.
Have you ever tried hemp seeds before? If not, you’re missing out! They have a very subtle, savory taste and can be added to smoothies, bread, and other baking much like chia seeds.
Hemp seeds are filled with fatty acids, protein, vitamin E, and potassium, making them an underrated food in the seed category. If you are looking for ways to add nutrition to your grain-based foods, these little guys will do the trick.
Rice is something you almost always have in your cupboard as a base for a delicious meal. If you are having someone over for supper who is gluten-free, consider making a dish with rice, chicken, veggies and a gluten-free sauce to top it off!
All rice is gluten free from white rice to wild rice, making it a very popular and easy option for those who are celiac or simply just gluten-free. Double check the label to make sure that the rice hasn’t been processed with any other gluten products, which is common for flavored rice, before you serve it up!
Who doesn’t love corn on the cob?! It’s a great starchy, filling food to serve on the side with protein and veggies, and thankfully it’s completely gluten-free!
Corn is also turned into corn flour so you can make starchy foods with it as you would with regular flour. It is also a fantastic thickener for recipes where gluten is required. Because it is naturally gluten-free, it’s a great ingredient to add to a gluten-free shepherd’s pie or to include in a stir-fry, or you can try your hand at a creamy polenta.
Looking for a sweet treat for your gluten-free friends? Marshmallows are actually gluten-free and are best served in between some gluten-free graham crackers with some chocolate, or in Rice Krispie Squares!
Marshmallows are made out of sugar, water, and gelatin so they are one of the more simplistic desserts to serve up to people who have allergies and intolerances. You can also set up a small marshmallow roasting station on your supper table for an easy and fun dessert!
These insanely popular desserts are not only beautiful and delicious, but they are also gluten-free! They require a huge amount of skill to create but you can also purchase them at most bakeries.
Macarons are made from almonds, sugar egg whites, and cream. The coloring is added to make these beautifully vibrant colors along with other garnishes such as edible glitter or gold flakes.
Rice crackers are a great alternative to regular crackers, and completely gluten-free! Rice crackers can be used as a great base for appetizers or can be served as a healthier alternative to chips.
A major bonus about rice crackers is that they are also vegan. Make sure to check the label to ensure they are both gluten and dairy free, but for the most part, they are very allergy friendly.
Is this the first time you’ve heard about buckwheat? That’s okay! Buckwheat is often used in the form of buckwheat flour as it is gluten-free. You can make pancakes, bread and treats with it, all the while, reaping piles of nutritional benefits from it!
Buckwheat can improve your heart health, fill your body with antioxidants and is packed with protein. Even if you’re not gluten-free, buckwheat is definitely an amazing food to have in your cupboard.
Much like buckwheat and cornstarch, flax meal is a wonderful addition to your cooking. It looks and feels like a grain, helps add more fiber to your diet, and can even be used as a breading on your favorite meats and vegetables.
Flaxmeal offers great nutritional benefits including being packed with omega-3 fatty acids that are considered “healthy fats”. Flaxmeal also has antioxidant properties which can help to lower your chances of getting cancer.
Cheerios are a great snack to carry in your car or have on hand at your home for breakfast. Top with cinnamon and berries for a serving of fruit and a sprinkle of flavor.
Cheerios are made from oats that are gluten-free, as well as nut free. They are a great snack for school lunches as they are very allergen friendly.
If you’re looking for a quick snack to pick up before a movie night or party, Smartfood is on your side! It’s at almost every drug store or corner store and is absolutely delicious.
Smart Food is made from vegetable oil, whey protein, cheddar cheese, buttermilk, and salt (along with some other additives). These ingredients make one of the best snacks, gluten-free!
Just like corn, corn tortillas are gluten-free! They are a great alternative to your typical wrap for tacos or burritos and don’t change the overall flavor of your favorite Mexican foods.
Corn tortillas can also be made at home in a griddle or frying pan with three simple ingredients: corn flour, water, and salt!
A quick snack on the run is always a must for any parent out there with hungry kiddies. Pick up a granola bar as a perfect gluten-free snack that is high in protein and fiber.
When you go to buy snack food next, check the labels to see which snacks are gluten-free options. Store a few varieties of these snacks in your pantry so whenever you have a gluten-free guest, you are ready for them to eat!
A lot of crackers contain gluten because they are made with wheat! Thankfully, there is an easy alternative that is usually available at your grocery store – especially in the organic food section.
Seed crackers are exactly what they sound like. They are made up of a variety of seeds, allowing the same crunchy texture as a cracker, while omitting the gluten based products from the mix. Always check the label and make sure they are gluten-free!
Plain yogurt is exploding with protein and is very low in sugar. You can add berries, cinnamon, and even some cacao nibs to make it taste less tart.
Plain yogurt is naturally gluten-free, but watch out for brands that process yogurt in the same factory as gluten, or sometimes has gluten sneaking into the fruit-bottom varieties.